Tinubu reassigns portfolios of ministers-designate, appoints Niger Delta minister

President Bola Tinubu has approved the reassignment of portfolios to some of the ministers-designate.

This was contained in a statement on Sunday by the Special Adviser to the president on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale.

According to the statement, Abubakar Momoh was redeployed from the Federal Ministry of Youth to the Ministry of Niger Delta Development while Adegboyega Oyetola was redeployed as the Minister of Marine and Blue Economy.

Ajuri, however, noted that the Federal Ministry of Youth would be reassigned to a minister-designate soon.

Other intending cabinet members include Bunmi Tunji-Ojo and Hon. Sa’idu Alkali who were redeployed as the Minister of Interior and Minister of Transportation respectively.

In a new development, Ajuri disclosed that both Ministers of State in the Oil & Gas sector have been domiciled in the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

On this note, he stated that Senator Heineken Lokpobiri has been assigned the portfolio of Minister of State (Oil), Petroleum Resources, while Ekperipe Ekpo was named the Minister of State (Gas), Petroleum Resources.

“The president has approved the renaming of the Federal Ministry of Environment and Ecological Management as the Federal Ministry of Environment. All aforementioned changes take immediate effect by these directives of the President,” the statement added.

✍️ Dayo Oyewo