PDP, SDP, NNPP, and others form coalition against APC

Seven opposition parties in Nigeria on Wednesday, Dec. 6, formed a coalition tagged “the Coalition of Concerned Political Parties (CCPP)” in Abuja.

The coalition was established in Abuja during a meeting of political party leaders at the National Secretariat of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The parties that make up the coalition are the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), African Democratic Congress (ADC), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressives Party (YPP) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

The leaders of all seven parties attended a meeting at the National Secretariat of the SDP where the coalition was formed on Wednesday.

Recall that in November, Atiku Abubakar, a former vice president and candidate of the PDP in the 2023 presidential election, called on opposition parties to unite to remove the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) from power.

On November 14, when he welcomed the National Executive Committee of the Inter-Party Advisory Council Nigeria (IPAC) in his home, Atiku warned against Nigeria becoming a one-party state and urged the opposition to unite.