Full List: Burna Boy And Asake Lead Nominations As Headies Awards Unveil 2023 Nominees

Burna Boy received nominations for Digital Artiste Of The Year, African Artiste Of The Year, Best Male Artiste, Song Of The Year, Album Of The Year, Afrobeats Single Of The Year, Best Collaboration, Best R&B Single, Songwriter Of The Year, and Best Recording Of The Year. While Asake earned recognition in the Best Street-Hop Artiste Category, Headies’ Viewers Choice, Album Of The Year, Song Of The Year, Next Rated, Best Male Artiste, Digital Artiste Of The Year, and more.

The global award show, which seeks to applaud artistes for their work during the year in review (January 2022 – March 2023), nominated artistes across the continent with special recognition to music icons like Sound Sultan, who had been known as the pacesetter for Nigerian Hip Hop.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Lyricist On The Roll
Ladipoe – Clowns

Vector – Clowns

Payper Corleone – Fly Talk Only

Alpha Ojini – Vigilante Bop

A-Q – Family First

TEC (SDC) – Live Life

African Artiste Of The Year
Rema (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Marwa Loud (Morocco)

Black Sherif (Ghana)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Next Rated
Young Jonn

Seyi Vibez




Best Male Artiste


Kizz Daniel


Omah Lay

Burna Boy

Best Female Artiste


Tiwa Savage

Ayra Starr

Song Of The Year
Rema – Calm Down

Burna Boy – Last Last

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga

Pheelz Ft BNXN – Finesse

Asake Ft Burna Boy – Sungba Remix

Best Rap Album
Payper Corleone – Fly Talk Only

Show Dem Camp – Palmwine Music Vol.3

Blaqbonez – Young Preacher

Psycho YP – YPSN23

Vector – Teslim: The Energy Still Lives In Me

Jeriq – Billion Dollar Dream

Album Of The Year
Burna Boy – Love Damini

Asake – Mr Money With The Vibe

Rema – Rave & Roses

Omah Lay – Boy Alone

Victony – Outlaw

Davido – Timeless

Best Alternative Album 
Basketmouth – Horoscopes

BOJ – Gbagada Express

Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream Of Doors

Cruel Santino – Subaru Boys: Final Heaven

Somadina – Heart Of The Heavenly Undeniable

Native Sound System – Native World

Best R&B Album
Johnny Drille – Home

Chike – The Brother’s Keeper

Praiz – Reckless

Waje – Waje 2.0

Dami Oniru – Matter Of Time

Simi – To Be Honest (TBH)

Best South African Artiste Of The Year

Nasty C

Costa Titch

Uncle Waffles


DJ Tarico (Mozambique)

Best Central African Artiste Of The Year
Fally Ipupa (Congo)

Gaz Mawete (Congo)

Matias Damasio (Angola)

Emma’A (Gabon)

Libianca (Cameroon)

Best East African Artiste Of The Year

Diamond Platinumz


Eddy Kenzo

Hewan Gebreworld

Best North African Artiste Of The Year
Marwa Loud (Morocco)

Wegz (Egypt)

El Grande honeypot (Morocco)

Soolking (Algeria)

Best West African Artiste
Gyakie (Ghana)

Black Sherif (Ghana)

The Therapist (Liberia)

Camidoh (Ghana)

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice
Ruger – Asiwaju

Victony & Tempoe – Soweto

Fireboy DML & Asake – Bandana

Ayra Starr – Rush

Asake – Terminator

Mavins – Overloading (Overdose)

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Crayon – Ijo Laba Laba

Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga

Pheelz & Davido – Electricity

Afrobeats Single Of The Year
Burna Boy – Last Last

Ayra Starr – Rush

Kizz Daniel Ft Tekno – Buga

Pheelz Ft BNXN – Finesse

Spyro – Who’s Your Guy

Ruger – Asiwaju

Best Street-Hop Artiste
Rexxie ft Naira Marley & Skiibi – Abracadabra

Seyi Vibez – Chance

Asake – Joha

Zlatan ft Young Jonn – Astalavista

Poco Lee & HotKid – Otilo

Mohbad – Peace

Best Collaboration
Asake Ft Burna Boy – Sungba Remix

BNXN Ft Kizz Daniel & Seyi Vibez – Gwagwalada

Pheelz Ft BNXN – Finesse

Spyro Ft Tiwa Savage – Who’s Your Guy

Pheelz Ft Davido – Electricity

Wande Coal Ft Olamide – Kpe Paso

Best Music Video Director
Blaqbonez & Perliks – Back In Uni

TG Omori – PBUY (Asake)

Director Pink – Spell Remix (Chike & Oxlade)

Director K – Common Person (Burna Boy)

TG Omori – Bandana (Fireboy & Asake)

Director K – Calm Down (Rema)

Best Vocal Performance (Male)
Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Ric Hassani – My Only Baby

Magixx – Love Don’t Cost A Dime

Chike – Spell Remix

Praiz – Reckless

Wande Coal – Kpe Paso

Best Vocal Performance (Female)
Niniola – Memories

Simi – Loyal

Waje – In Between 

Liya – Adua Remix

Preye – Red Wine

Dami Oniru – Just 4 U

Best Alternative Song
Wizard Chan – Earth Song

Cruel Santino – Final Champion

Basketmouth Ft The Cavemen – The Traveller

Boj Ft Molly & Melissa – In A Loop

Flavour – Game Changer

Obongjayar – Tinko Tinko

Best Rap Single
Reminisce – Hustle

Ladipoe – Big Energy

Blaqbonez – Back In Uni

Psycho YP – Bando Diaries

Odumodublvck – Declan Rice

Jeriq Ft Phyno – My Bro

Best R&B Single
Burna Boy ft Ed Sheeran – For My Hand 

Ckay – Mmadu

Dami Oniru – Just 4 U

Preye – Red Wine

Chike Ft Flavour – Hard To Find

Simi Ft Fave – Loyal

Songwriter Of The Year
Simi – Loyal

Omah Lay – I’m Mess

Tems – Lift Me Up

Burna Boy – Alone

BNXN – In My Mind

Wizard Chan – Earth Song

Producer Of The Year
Sungba Remix – Magicsticks

Electricity – Pheelz Ft Davido

Calm Down – Andre Vibez & London

Soweto – Tempoe

Kpe Kpaso – Kel-P

Rexxie – Abracadabra

International Artiste Of The Year


Selena Gomez

Don Toliver

Ed Sheeran

Special Recognition

Sound Sultan

Digital Artiste Of The Year
Burna Boy

Ayra Starr


Omah Lay

Kizz Daniel


Best Inspirational Song
Davido ft Sunday Service Choir – Stand Strong

Limoblaze, Lecrae & Happi Music – Jireh

Victor Thompson & Ehis ‘D’ Greatest – This Year

Neon Adejo – Eze Ebube

Nathaniel Bassey & Mercy Chinwo – Tobechukwu

Victoria Orenze – I Get Backing

Hall Of Fame
Youssou N’Dour

International Artiste Recognition
Sean ‘Love’ Combs

Best Recording Of The Year
Burna Boy – Alone

Victony & Tempoe – Soweto

Omah Lay – I’m Mess

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Davido Ft Sunday Service Choir – Stand Strong

Tems – No Woman No Cry

Rookie Of The Year
Eltee Skhillz

Bloody Civilian