Buhari Appreciates Emefiele For Being The CBN governor for 8 years, Gives Him National Honor 24 Hours Before Handover

The outgoing President, Muhammadu Buhari who seemed to have enjoyed the service of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) governor, Godwin Emefiele has conferred on him the third highest national honour in the country.

This was contained in a list of 2023 special national honour awards recipients issued by the Federal Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs on Sunday, May 28, 2023.

Emefiele who was critcised for bringing hardship to Nigerians occasioned by his CBN-led Naira redesigned policy was awarded Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR)

Emefiele became the CBN governor in 2014 after the suspension of Sanusi Lamido Sanusi by former president Goodluck Jonathan. He has remained in the seat throughout President Muhammadu Buhari’s tenure, despite several calls for his removal.

In a similar vein, a former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth, Emeka Anyaoku was conferred with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger.

The Olowu of Kuta, Oba Adekunle Oyelude Makama, Tegbosun III, was also conferred with the Commander of the Order of Niger, CON.

The award of the national honour investiture which comes up in Abuja is in recognition of Olowu Kuta’s support for the military and his Constant admonition to the Nigerians about the need to encourage the Nigerian Army.

Olowu, whose support for the military has been tremendous since he became the traditional ruler in Osun State 10 years ago has never shied away from playing his role as father of all. These has also won him laurels from the Nigerian Union of Journalist, Osun State as Life Patron and other notable organisations.

The Olowu in council is appreciating President Buhari for bestowing such national honour on their traditional ruler, say history will be kind to the Daura born army general turned democrat.

Also, former Governor of Osun, Bisi Akande; Olusegun Osoba; Mamman Daura and, among others received Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic.