Governor Uzodimma Declared Winner Of Imo Poll With 540,308 Votes

Governor Hope Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Imo State by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The State Returning Officer for the election, Prof Abayomi Fasina, who is the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti state, declared Uzodimma the winner of the election on Sunday morning.

The governor got 540,308 votes followed by the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Samuel Anyanwu, who came a distant second with 71,503 votes.

The Labour Party candidate, Athan Achonu, came third with a total of 64,081 votes.

The collation of results started around 2 a.m. on Sunday in Owerri, the state capital.

Eighteen parties fielded candidates in the election but Governor Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress won in all 27 local government areas in the state, as announced by INEC.

Earlier at the collation centre, the state agent for the Labour Party, Callistus Ihejiagwa, was beaten and thrown out of the venue for raising objections to the results being announced by the Returning Officers from the local government areas.

Following the assault, the agent of the Peoples Democratic Party in the state, Kissinger Ikeokwu, left the venue.

The candidates of the PDP and the Labour Party on Saturday night called for the cancellaton of the election after alleging rigging by the APC with the support of INEC and security agents.